Outstanding education at the heart of the community

Endeavour Swimming

 


Endeavour Swimming launched in September 2016 to provide swimming lessons for young people from the local community. The programme builds upon the already successful curriculum programme delivered to young people during the school day at Tarleton Academy by swimming specialists from West Lancashire Sport Partnership.

Lessons take place on a Monday, Tuesday and Thursday between 4:00pm and 6:00pm. Lessons are focused, 30-minute sessions in similar ability groups.

The programme has seen rapid expansion since its inception - at the start of Block 1 in September 2016 we had just under 70 swimmers at Endeavour. In September 2017, there were 180 swimmers booked on to lessons. The programme operates in 4 x 10-week 'blocks' of swimming over the course of the academic year. Parents can book their child in to lessons during the first two weeks of a block, after which they are placed on a waiting list for the following block. The cost of a 10-week group lesson block is £45.00. Details of how payment will be made will be confirmed upon a booking request. 


The block dates for 2017-18 are as follows:

Block 1 - Monday 4th September to Thursday 9th November (Open w/c Mon 30th Oct)

Block 2 - Monday 13th November to Thursday 1st February (Closed w/c Mon 25th Dec + w/c Mon 1st Jan)

Block 3 - Monday 5th February to Thursday 26th April (Open w/c Mon 12th Feb) (Closed w/c Mon 26th March + w/c Mon 3rd April)

Block 4 - Monday 30th April to Thursday 12th July (Closed w/c Mon 28th May) (Closed Bank Hol Mon 7th May - rearranged day for Mon 16th July)

There are opportunities to purchase ASA Certificates and Badges during at least two weeks of swimming over the course of the year.

Endeavour Swimming are also exploring alternative swimming provision to take place on Wednesdays and Fridays between the hours of 4:00pm and 6:00pm.

To enquire about the programme or to book a place please send an e-mail to the address below expressing your interest.

swimming@tarletonacademy.org


Please see the initial letter sent to parents in the Summer of 2016 explaining the provision that is on offer at Endeavour Swimming. 

The letter to parents can be downloaded here